Nancy Zakon Receives the 2023 Izaak Walton Award

AMFF honored Nancy Zakon over two days as the 2023 Izaak Walton Award recipient. On March 13, an extraordinary group of women gathered over Zoom to discuss their experiences as anglers and share wonderful stories about Nancy. Emcee Sara Low was joined by Mary Bloom, Fanny Krieger, Lori-Ann Murphy, Joan Wulff, and of course our honoree. Nancy’s accomplishments as an inspiration to women in the sport were illustrated by humorous and touching recollections by the panelists, including a very funny tale of Sara and Nancy saltwater fishing in waders. In her closing thoughts, Nancy said, “Going (fishing) with other women is so supportive…When one catches a fish, it’s as though we’ve all caught that fish.”

The following evening, guests gathered at the beautiful Key Largo Anglers Club for a celebratory reception and auction. Attendees included family, friends, and members of the Bonefish Bonnies, a local women’s fishing club founded by Nancy. Everyone there had an anecdote to share about Nancy’s kindness to others, generosity as a mentor, skill as an angler, graciousness as a host, and patience as a teacher.

AMFF would like to thank the Leadership Circle Donors of the event: Joan Birsh, Mary & Geof Bloom, The Bonefish Bonnies, Charlotte Curry, Tom & Sally Davidson, Gary & Sulu Grant, Misako Ishimura, Capt. Robin L.W. McGraw, Rod & Christine Patton, Helene Peddle, Fred Polhemus, The Saunce Group, Laura Wilson, and Joan Wulff. We also appreciate the support of our auction and raffle donors: Paul Dixon, Rachel Finn, Ed Jaworowski, Orvis Flagship Store, Miss Mayfly, Flip Pallot, Tom Rosenbauer, and Nancy & Alan Zakon. Additionally, we would like to express our gratitude to AMFF Trustee Richard Tisch for conducting the auction, and AMFF President Fred Polhemus for his remarks on both evenings.

Thank you to our Leadership Circle donors and supporters

Keys Crew

Joan Birsh
Tom and Sally Davidson
Gary and Sulu Grant
Misako Ishimura
Capt. Robin L. W. McGraw
Rod and Christine Patton
Helene Peddle
The Saunce Group

Sunapee Squad

Geof and Mary Bloom
The Bonefish Bonnies
Charlotte Curry
Fred Polhemus
Laura Wilson
Joan Wulff

Gifts in honor of Nancy

Sarah A. Cart
Russ & Chris Fisher
Nick Lyons
Elizabeth Macauley
Barbara Noyes
George Overstreet
Jeannie Schiavone