The Heritage Award

The American Museum of Fly Fishing established the Heritage Award to honor and celebrate individuals and organizations whose commitment to the Museum, the sport of fly fishing, and the conservation of our natural resources set standards to which we all should aspire. Each year an honoree is announced, and a Heritage Award dinner, open to the public, is usually held in New York City.

  • 2010 Casting for Recovery
  • 2008 Joan Salvato Wulff
  • 2007 Stanley Bogdan
  • 2003 Mel Krieger
  • 2003 Nick Lyons
  • 2002 Yvon Chouinard
  • 2002 Foster Bam
  • 2001 Lewis W. Coleman
  • 2000 George Harvey
  • 2000 Nathaniel Pryor Reed
  • 1999 Bud Lilly
  • 1998 Gardner L. Grant
  • 1997 Leigh H. Perkins
Photo by Neal Henderson. Courtesy of the Jackson Hole One Fly Foundation.

The Izaak Walton Award

The American Museum of Fly Fishing established the Izaak Walton Award in 2014 to honor and celebrate individuals who live by the Compleat Angler philosophy. Their passion for the sport of fly fishing and involvement in their angling community provides inspiration for others and promotes the legacy of leadership for future generations.

2024 Izaak Walton Award honoree Guido Rahr.

The Austin Hogan Award

Established in 1985 to honor the memory of Austin Hogan, who founded the American Fly Fisher in 1974, the Austin Hogan Award recognizes exemplary contributions to the museum's journal.

  • 1998 John Betts
  • 1997 Frederck Buller
  • 1996 John Mundt
  • 1993 Gordon M. Wickstrom
  • 1991 Paul Schullery
  • 1986 David Ledlie
  • 1985 Richard Hoffmann
Austin Hogan

The Joe A. Pisarro Volunteer of the Year Award

Created in 1990 to honor the seven years of selfless service given to the museum by volunteer Joe Pisarro, this award is presented to the museum's most outstanding volunteer.

  • 2018 Bill Cosgrove
  • 2017 Ray Smith
  • 2015 Erika Kornbluth
  • 2012 Rose Napolitano
  • 2000 Gerald Karaska
  • 1999 Jim Brown, Charles "Buzz" Eichel, and Bob O'Shaughnessy
  • 1998 Green Mountain Fly Tyers
Joe Pisarro, seated, smokes a pipe as he examines a piece of paper.
Joe Pisarro
  • 1997 Marsha Byrne
  • 1996 Shane Sweet
  • 1995 Robert Blain and Joseph McCusker
  • 1994 Peter Castagnetti
  • 1993 Pamela Bates Richards
  • 1992 William Chandler
  • 1991 Donald Catalfimo
  • 1990 Angus Black